Danielle's PR Writing World :)

Get excited to Learn …

T.O.W 8 April 10, 2010

Filed under: 1 — ladyd23 @ 2:43 pm

The Lead Lab

In the NewsU course The Lead Lab I really learned a lot about how to create a lead. The course really caught my attention because it was really interactive.  It was entertaining  and fun to go through and explore the Lab. While taking the course I learned that when writing a lead begin with the basic who, what, where, when, why, and how.  After you get the basics down narrow down the information down to the basic news story. Another thing that I thought was interesting was the myths of lead writing.  One myth that I thought was interesting was that a good lead can never be more than three or four sentences long. A rule that I have always learned in writing was to be short and to the point in order not to lose your reader, but though this may be true sometimes a longer lead can be better to draw the reader into the story. Also another myth was that a good lead can not have a quote in it. In english class I learned that sometimes using quotes in the introduction can be cheesy, but sometimes in a lead it can catch the reader’s attention. I think the most helpful thing I learned in this chapter though was how to fix your own leads. It was comforting to know that its okay not to get it right the first time. A good lead is like clay, it needs refining and molding until it’s just right. This course really helped me understand how to write better leads.

 

Leave a Reply

