Danielle's PR Writing World :)

Get excited to Learn …

Language of the Image March 27, 2010

Filed under: PR Connection — ladyd23 @ 7:22 am

In the Language of the Image course at NewsU I really learn a lot about what good photography can bring to a story. I really enjoyed this course because i am very interested in photography. Before entering this course I knew little to nothing about the elements of photography and taking this course has given me a glimpse of different elements and has shown me what a tool they can be.  The three photo types I learned about were informationalpassive and,  active. Learning about the different elements involved in photography was my favorite part of the course. Some of my favorite single elements include graphics. surprise, mood, perspective and quality of  light. The magic of photography is found when you combine these elements into one photo to create a wordless story. Photography is such an asset to journalism. A picture can really bring a story to life for the readers and set them in the mist of the action. There is so much more that I  would love to know about photography, but taking this course has really opened my eyes to the world of photography. I no longer view pictures as fun memories I captured on my digital camera so I can post them on Facebook. A photo can have so much more power, effect and use to it. It can tell a story, stir people to action, and leave people with their jaws dropped. Learning  about the impact that photography can have has made me want to explore this aspect of journalism in more depth. After taking this course it is obvious to me that a picture truly is worth a thousand words.

 

Leave a Reply

