Danielle's PR Writing World :)

Get excited to Learn …

T.O.W Week 2 ( Grammar Girl) January 28, 2010

Filed under: PR Connection,T.O.W — ladyd23 @ 12:16 pm

Funny Error Stories

1. I learned a lot in this episode of  Grammar Girl about how a silly spelling error can change the meaning of your sentence. Sometimes those errors are comical, but sometimes you may offend a client or friend. Some examples are: Dr. Moron instead of Dr. Morrison, or leaving out the l in public can cause some problems as well.

2. I think what surprised me the most was that some of the errors that she refered to were errors  that are easy to make, such as leaving the l out of public, but the can really make the writer look like a fool and even maybe cost him/her their job. A simple way to make sure that these errors are not made is to read your writing out loud or have someone else proof read it. These are simple things that can save a writer fro embarrassment.

3.I would love to learn more about how to fix spelling errors and even how to catch some of them myself. I struggle with spelling. I have made some of the same errors that Grammar Girl refered to in her pod-cast. I struggle with dyslexia and sometimes it affects my writing.

 

Leave a Reply

